what is {love}

Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more (Hahah- okay I had to throw some haddaway in there). But what is love, or liking someone,  or any type of feeling that makes us vulnerable. I feel as if generations today fear any type of feeling for one another and I still can’t comprend why. Maybe it’s my positive outlook on life that makes me willing to take a chance on people, but it doesn’t mean I’m not terrified to get hurt. I guess I’m just willing to put myself out there for someone in hopes that everything works out for the best. The thing I don’t understand today is how others are so terrified of love. 

Love is something great, it can be exhilarating, it can be passionate, and it can be emotional. I think to many people see love as a commitment and fear the hurt that could come with it, instead of looking at all the amazing things that could come from being with someone. The fear of getting hurt comes in any situation of live, and honestly life is way to short not to tell the ones you care about how you feel about them. In light of the situations happening all over the world, I wish more people would take a chance to put theirselves out there for someone. You honesty never know what could happen in life- I’m not trying to be cynical but you just never know where life may take you. I wish more people would just brace the journey and follow their hearts. We spend so much time protecting our hearts that you end up missing out on so many wonderful people that could be in your life. It is important to protect yourself some so you still have love in the end- I know that something I lack a lot of. I just own a big heart that wants to love everyone that comes into my life- different levels of love, of course, for each one. But to still love. One of my favorite quotes of all time is “always love, hate will get you everytime.” I just hope we, as a generation, no longer see love as a fear but as an excitement. 

xo,

nik. 

Leave a Reply

