fake a {smile} 

It’s World Suicide Prevention Week and I want to share personally about mental health. 

Depression- something no one ever wants to talk about. It can fully consume even the once happiest of people. Each day is just another day of surviving not living, to make it through the day when you feel lower than low. That getting out of bed some days is unthinkable, and to force yourself too is such a mundane task to do.   To many they don’t understand how someone can feel this way, and just think it’s something you can “get over” or to just “cheer up”. However,  it’s so much more than that. The thing with depression is it can happen to anyone-any race, gender, age, religion, no matter the difference we’re all dealing with the same feelings. Regardless of the situation it all feels the same. That’s the biggest issue with it, the media has portrayed it to be something only “weird” or “emo” or “loners” deal with. (honestly when we think of depression we think of people who shop at hot topic and wear all black-I know I have) It gets such a negative rep that people don’t speak out or get the help they need because of it- AND THIS IS NOT OKAY. If you saw me walking down the street I would probably be the last person you’d think to be dealing with depression. I am and I am not ashamed of it.  Sometimes the happiest of people are dealing with a world wind of issues in their own lives, it’s why too many people are taken too soon because no one sees through their fake smile. 

It’s so easy to fake a smile, and honestly sometimes it feels that it’s the only thing you can do. The world has made it so easy to just cover up your issues instead of facing them head on. That of you don’t cover them up you should be ashamed-which you should never ever feel. I have a great group of friends and family that saw through my fake smile and have helped me along my journey. I can’t thank them enough for being there for me even when things get difficult at times. Without the support of others I don’t know where I would be, it is okay to ask for help. I know I needed something more and couldn’t do it alone any longer. I do not let depression define me, it is apart of me and I move forward each day to overcome the obstacles that are ahead. 

I want to tell anyone reading this that you are not alone. I may be a complete stranger to you but I am here for you. We are in this together. 

xo,

nik. 

– I want to add this number to the end of my post to know there is ALWAYS someone there for you to talk: 1-800-273-TALK 

Leave a Reply

