prelude

well, here we go. I want to take you on the journey of my life and that being in your 20′s is not all what’s it is cracked up to be. However, before we begin we need to take a step back, and talk about this word: writing. What does it mean? How do you define a quality writer? Why do people write? So many questions surrounding one simple word. Writing is defined by the Merriam-Webster dictionary as: “the act or art of forming visible letters or characters”. So how does one simple word of forming visible letters create such a negative connotation in my mouth. I hate writing. I’m not going to lie, I have been told my whole life that I am average at writing, pulling B’s through AP English and same throughout college. So why do teachers, professors, and scholars dictate who is good at writing and who is not, when after all it’s just the art of forming visible characters. It’s because everyone has a preconceived notation of what a good writer should be. From Shakespeare, to J.K. Rowling, to Scott F. Fitzgerald, they have all given us such great pieces of literature that we believe anyone who is less of that is inferior. Always being compared when it comes to writing is why there is such negativity surrounding the topic, to have to constantly think outside the box to set yourself apart from others. Writing should be enjoyable and not something forced. That is why I am creating this blog to express my journey through words. Bare with me while I rediscover what it’s like to write. 

xo, 

nik 

Leave a Reply

